Aller au contenu principal


The Universe or Cosmos. In theosophy the macrocosm is said to be sevenfold in its nature, and these are grouped into three Principles and four Vehicles which jointly are the seven Principles. These may be defined as under:

1. Paramātman; the Supreme Spirit or “The Absolute.”

2. Mahā-Buddhi; ray of the Universal Spiritual Soul.

3. Mahat; Universal Mind.

4. Cosmic Kāma; “Kāma is the first conscious, all embracing desire for universal good, love, and for all that lives and feels, needs help and kindness, the first feeling of infinite tender compassion and mercy that arose in the consciousness of the creative One Force, as soon as it came into life and being as a ray from the Absolute,” (The Theosophical Glossary, pp. 170-1).

5. Cosmic Jīva; cosmic energy which when individualized is called PRšïA.

6. Cosmic Linga-śarīra (“astral light,” see Astral Light).

7. Sthūla-śarīra; the manifested universe.

In many theosophical writings the use of “Macrocosm” indicates “Nature” or, in some cases, the “Solar system” and “Microcosm” is used to indicate the individual human since the latter in its sevenfold nature is a reflection of the former.


© Copyright by the Theosophical Publishing House, Manila